Cyprus (1881 - 1960, British Colony)

list of persons

Cyprus became a British protectorate in 1878 and was incorporated in the British Commonwealth in 1881. When the Ottoman Empire declared war on the Entente, including Great Britain in 1914, the British annexed Cyprus as a colony on November 2nd, 1914 and the island became a Crown Colony in 1925.
Following a period of unrest, which began with the Greek-Cypriotic uprising in 1955, Cyprus became an independent state in August 1960.
This website is an initiative of STIWOT. All rights reserved © 2002-2017. Privacy statement, cookies, disclaimer and copyright.
Other projects of STIWOT are:,,, STIWOT Forum, STIWOT Reizen and
Webhosting by Vevida.