Germany (1933-1945, German Reich)

Translation: Air Warden Honor Award
The Air Warden Honour Award (Luftschutz-Ehrenzeichen) is instituted on 30 January 1938 and was awarded for bravery during and direct after Allied air raids. This medal was instituted in two classes and both classes were designed by Egon Jantke of Berlin. The Air Warden Honour Award was not only reserved for the members of the Luftschutz (Air Raid Precautions) but could also be awarded to factory guards, fire fighters, police ect. The golden cross of the 1st Class is only 150 times awarded during the entire war and was only awarded for extraordinary bravery and service for the protection of the German civil population.
Luftschutz-Ehrenzeichen 1. Stufe
Air Warden Honor Award 1st Class
Luftschutz-Ehrenzeichen 2. Stufe
Air Warden Honor Award 2nd Class

  Provide alterations or additional information
Picture source:   - eMedals
Information source(s):   - Lumsden Robin, Medals and Decorations of Hitler’s Germany, Airlife, 2001.
- Forman A., Forman’s Guide to Third Reich German documents…and their values Volume 2, James Bender Publishing, 1996. - Littlejohn D., Defending the Reich, James Bender Publishing, 2007.
- Littlejohn D. and Dodkins C., Orders, Decorations, Medals and Badges of the Third Reich. (including the free city of Danzig) volume 1, James Bender Publishing, 1975.
This website is an initiative of STIWOT. All rights reserved © 2002-2017. Privacy statement, cookies, disclaimer and copyright.
Other projects of STIWOT are:,,, STIWOT Forum, STIWOT Reizen and
Webhosting by Vevida.