Order of the British Empire

United Kingdom

Recipients A-Z
Order of the British Empire and British Empire Medal
The Most Excellent Order of the British Empire -BE- was instituted in 1917 by King George V for civilian and wartime service and gallantry in war, currently for meritorious service to government. In 1918 a military division was added.
There are five classes: Knight/Dame Grand Cross -GBE-; Knight/Dame Commander -KBE/DBE; Commander -CBE-; Officer -OBE- and Member -MBE. Conferment of the two highest classes entails admission into knighthood, non-British citizens who receive the Order are known as "honorary member".
The insignia bears the effigies of King George V and Queen Mary, along with the motto: "For God and the Empire. The ribbon is 1.25" wide and coloured red with three narrow vertical stripes of silver, one down the centre of the ribbon, the other two down each side.
Associated with the Order is the British Empire Medal -BEM-, also instituted by King George V which is awarded to persons not eligible for admission into any of the five classes of the Order.
Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire (GBE)
Knights/Dames Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (K/DBE)
Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)
Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)
Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  Provide alterations or additional information
Picture source:   - Medals of the World
Information source(s):   Encyclopedia Brittannica
This website is an initiative of STIWOT. All rights reserved © 2002-2017. Privacy statement, cookies, disclaimer and copyright.
Other projects of STIWOT are: Go2War2.com, TracesOfWar.com, Oorlogsmusea.nl, STIWOT Forum, STIWOT Reizen and Tweede-Wereldoorlog.nl.
Webhosting by Vevida.