Did you know that?

From June 1st 1940 recipients of the Verwundetenabzeichen 1939 in Silber or Verwundetenabzeichen 1939 in Gold were also presented automatically with the Eisernes Kreuz 2. Klasse if they did not already possest it. This pluralism meant that, for example, a sailor who lost a hand or foot in action while serving on an E-boat at the Kuban Bridgehead would receive not only the Verwundetenabzeichen 1939 in Silber but also the Schnellboot-Kriegsabzeichen ohne Brillianten, Kubanschild and the Eisernes Kreuz 2. Klasse, purely on account of this single wound he sustained.


This website is an initiative of STIWOT (Foundation for Information on the Second World War). With this website we intend to make a time document. Decorations are an essential part in recognising deeds and participating in activities, especially in times of war.

Awards with a complete personslist

Großkreuz des Eisernen KreuzesNahkampfspange in GoldGemeinsames Flugzeugfuhrer-Beobachter Abzeichen mit BrilliantenMedal of Honor - Navy/Marine Corps (MoH)Kriegsabzeichen für Hilfskreuzer mit BrilliantenAir Force Cross (AC)Vapaudenristin Suurristi (VR SR / VR SR mk)Ritterkreuz, Goldener Eichenlaub mit Schwertern und BrillantenDeutscher Orden des Großdeutschen ReichesFrontflugspange für Schlachtflieger in Gold mit BrilliantenU-boot Kriegsabzeichen mit BrilliantenGeorge CrossDickin MedalMagyar Tiszti Arany Vitézségi ÉremSpanienkreuz, Gold mit Schwertern und Brillianten
This website is an initiative of STIWOT. All rights reserved © 2002-2014. Privacy statement, cookies, disclaimer and copyright.
Other projects of STIWOT are: Go2War2.com, TracesOfWar.com, WO2Actueel.nl, Oorlogsmusea.nl, STIWOT Forum, STIWOT Reizen and Tweede-Wereldoorlog.nl.
Webhosting by Vevida.